Tuesday 12 November, Stationers’ Hall 

8.45 am : Coffee and Registration

9.30 am: Welcome

9.50 am: Keynote Opening Speech

Jeremy Bliss, lawyer and film-maker

10.10 am: Panel 1: The Role of the Editor in the Evolving Newsroom

Chair: Kamal Ahmed, Editorial Director of BBC News

Chris Evans, Editor of The Telegraph 

Nancy Fielder, Editor of the Sheffield Star

Alessandra Galloni, Global Managing Editor of Reuters

Vic Motune, Head of News at The Voice

Alison Phillips, Editor of the Daily Mirror

11.10 am: Coffee

11.30 am: Panel 2: Investigations: Are they still relevant in the clickbait world?

Charlene White, Journalist and Broadcaster, ITV News

Jane Bradley, Investigations Correspondent at BuzzFeed News

Tom Bristow, Head of Archant Investigations Unit

Jonathan Calvert, Insight Editor at The Sunday Times

Paul Henderson, Deputy Editor of the Daily Mirror

Claire Newell, Investigations Editor of The Telegraph

12.30 pm: Lunch

Sponsored by BBC News

1.45 pm: Panel 3: The Digital Future: Building Audience and Future-proofing the Newsroom

Chair: Alison Gow, Editor in Chief (digital) for the regionals division of Reach plc

Christian Broughton, Editor of the Independent

Sarah Brown, Head of News Partnerships for UK/Ireland at Facebook

Professor Lucy Kueng, Senior Research Fellow at the Reuters Institute, Oxford University 

James Mitchinson, Editor of the Yorkshire Post and Editorial Director for JPIMedia Yorkshire

Keith Poole, Digital Editor of The Sun

2.45 pm: The Missing Billion

Tracy De Groose, Executive Chair of Newsworks 

3 pm: Coffee

3.20 pm: Keynote speech 

AC Neil Basu QPM, Metropolitan Police Assistant Commissioner for Specialist Operations  

3.55 pm: Panel 4: Press Freedom: Balancing the Public’s Needs with the Public’s Right to Know

Chair: Jodie Ginsberg, CEO of Index on Censorship

John Battle, Head of Compliance, ITN

Martin Breen, Editor of Sunday Life (Northern Ireland) 

Elizabeth Denham, Information Commissioner

The Rt Hon John Whittingdale MP

4.55 pm: Close

5.15 pm: Society of Editors Annual General Meeting

Suggestions for nearby attractions for guests to enjoy during the interval can be found here.

6.45 pm: President’s Reception

Sponsored by Cision

7.30 pm: 20th Anniversary Gala Dinner

After dinner awards and speeches

Lifetime Achievement Award: Kate Adie

Award to the Sun newspaper and its readers for 50 years of championing good causes

President Ian MacGregor introduces President Elect Alison Gow 

Toast to the Society of Editors 

Midnight: Carriages