Congratulations to the winners of the Media Freedom Awards 2022

Excellence in campaigning and investigative journalism was honoured at the Society of Editors’ inaugural Media Freedom Awards on Wednesday 9 November 2022. 

Held at the prestigious Globe Theatre in London, the high-profile awards, which set the benchmark for a celebration of UK public interest journalism, brought together more than 200 journalists from all sectors of the UK news media for a ceremony presented by ITV News’ Lucrezia Millarini and attended by the Secretary of State for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport Michelle Donelan MP. 

Held in association with WeShop with support from Camelot, Newsworks and the Google News Initiative, a full list of winners appears below. High-resolution images of the event will be added to this page in due course. 

With thanks to our headline sponsor

and our additional sponsors


Individual Awards

Commentator of the Year

Winner: Marina Hyde, The Guardian 
Highly commended: James Marriott, The Times

Foreign Correspondent of the Year

Winner: Christina Lamb, The Sunday Times 
Highly commended: Alex Crawford, Sky News 

Freelance Journalist of the Year

Winner: Ian Birrell, Daily Mail, UnHerd and The i
Highly commended: Lucy Osborne, The Guardian

Journalist of the Year - Broadcast

Presented by:

Winner: Alex Crawford, Sky News
Highly commended: Paul Brand, ITN

Journalist of the Year National

Winner: Pippa Crerar, Daily Mirror
Highly commended: Gabriel Pogrund, The Sunday Times 

Journalist of the Year Regional

Winner: Conor Matchett, The Scotsman 
Highly commended: Charles Thomson, Newsquest South East

News Producer of the Year

Winners: Katie Goodman and Christina Michaels, Channel 5 News

Photo Journalist of the Year

Winner: Jack Hill, The Times 
Highly commended: Simon Townsley, The Telegraph

Political Journalist of the Year

Winner: Pippa Crerar, Daily Mirror
Highly commended: Paul Brand, ITN

Young Campaigner of the Year

Winner: Isaan Khan, Daily Mail 
Highly commended: Emily Braeger, Daily Express

Young Producer of the Year

Winner: Rosie Dowsing, ITN News Central
Highly commended: Marta Santiváñez, Times Radio

Group Awards

Judges' Special Award

Winner: The Voice

Bob Satchwell Award

Winner: Cameras in Crown Courts 

Judges' Media Freedom Award

Winner: PA Media

Campaign of the Year National

Presented by:

Winner: Smart Motorways, Daily Mail 
Highly commended: Asylum and immigration, The Guardian and War on Food Waste, The Mail on Sunday

Campaign of the Year Regional

Presented by: 

Winner: Aquind campaign, The News, Portsmouth
Highly commended: Beat the Squeeze, Glasgow Times

Freedom of Information Award

Winner: Police Let 22,000 suspects roam free, Daily Mail 
Highly commended: Paedophile ring files, Newsquest South East

Investigation of the Year Broadcast

Winner: The Post Office Scandal, BBC Panorama
Highly commended: Maternity Scandal: Fighting for the Truth, BBC Panorama

Investigation of the Year National

Winner: Partygate, Daily Mirror 
Highly commended: Agnes Wanjiru, The Sunday Times 

Investigation of the Year Regional

Winner: South East Antrim UDA, Sunday Life 
Highly commended: Shoebury Paedophile Ring, Newsquest South East


Podcast of the Year

Presented by:

Winners: Bed of Lies, The Telegraph and Hot Money, Financial Times 
Highly commended: Silenced, Article 19 and War on Truth, BBC Radio 4


International News Media Organisation of the Year

Presented by: 

Winner: Bellingcat
Highly commended: Bloomberg

News Media Organisation of the Year

Presented by:

Winner: Daily Mirror 
Highly commended: The Sun and The Sunday Times