Regional Press Awards for 2020


The Society of Editors has decided to postpone the National and Regional Press Awards until later this year. New dates will be announced in due course. In the meantime the Society will continue its work in championing freedom of expression and supporting diversity in newsrooms, and will also plan for this year’s annual conference.

About the awards

  • Entries for the Regional Press Awards are open until April 30. 
  • The premier awards, organised by the Society of Editors on behalf of the industry, will celebrate the very best of UK regional and local journalism produced in 2020. 
  • A date for the awards is yet to be announced but a virtual awards ceremony will go ahead. 
  • The awards recognise the work of regional news journalists in print and digital platforms. Reporters, feature writers, interviewers and photographers working for agencies are also eligible to enter work published between 1 January 2020 and 31 December 2020.
  • Entries can be made for work published in print, website, online, mobile, video, audio or any other delivery format in any UK regional newspaper or any news website or platform covering UK regional or local news (excluding broadcast media).

Enter the awards here.

Entries open for the Regional Press Awards for 2020

Entries have opened for the Society of Editors’ Regional Press Awards for 2020, celebrating the best of UK regional and local newspaper journalism.

Following a turbulent year which has seen regional journalists go above and beyond to continue delivering local news of the highest quality to communities in need, the Society is determined to reward their efforts with a wide range of categories to cater for all achievements.

The awards, organised by the Society of Editors, will this year include a Chairman’s Special 2020 Award to recognise individual journalists, teams and support staff who have gone that extra, extra mile to ensure their publications/websites continued to function during the crisis. And the Society will be collating and reporting on these stories during the countdown to the awards which will take place in May of this year.

This category will be free to enter.

New categories for this year include Special Supplement of the Year and a separate category for Sunday Newspaper of the Year to acknowledge the work of Sunday teams as a distinctly unique offering to that of existing categories celebrating Weekly Newspaper and Daily Newspaper of the Year.

Once again in some established categories, awards have been split to ensure that journalists working on smaller titles with less resources are recognised without having to compete with larger, better-funded regional daily newsrooms.

The Cathryn Nicoll Interviewer of the Year Award will run for its third consecutive year at the Regional Press Awards. The award, set up by the News Media Association (NMA), was launched in 2019 in memory of Cathryn Nicoll who held the position of news editor at the Croydon Advertiser during her career as a journalist.

The award is open to any journalist working for a weekly or daily local or regional newspaper published in the UK, who is aged between 18 and 25 and rewards a £500 cash prize to its winner.

Paul Sinker, News Media Association, said: “Since its launch, the Cathryn Nicoll Award has gone from strength to strength, highlighting the brilliant work of young journalists across the UK. Local and regional journalism continues to play a critical role in keeping communities informed during the coronavirus pandemic and the Regional Press Awards will shine a spotlight upon this brilliant work.”

To celebrate the sterling campaigns produced across regional and local journalism, entries for the Campaign of the Year categories will also be included in the Making a Difference ~ People’s Choice public vote organised by the NMA, and announced as part of Journalism Matters later in the year.

Entries will be open until 23:59 on 30 April 2021 and early entries are encouraged. The entry price has been kept at the same level as last year.

A date for the awards is yet to be announced but a virtual awards ceremony will go ahead. The Society of Editors will monitor the situation with regards to coronavirus and re-evaluate the circumstances closer to the date.

The Regional Press Awards are made possible due the support of headline sponsor Facebook Journalism Project, and Camelot which has supported the Society since 2001. With thanks to Amazon, HoldTheFrontPage and Journalists’ Charity.

A full list of categories and entry guidance can be found here