Latest News 

Winners of The Comment Awards 2014 announced

25 November 2014

Editorial Intelligence

The winners of Editorial Intelligence's annual Comment Awards, which celebrate and acknowledge the year's finest UK print and online commentators and editorials, were announced this morning at a special breakfast award ceremony held at RIBA, London. Seventeen awards were given out in front of an audience of over 250 guests including the shortlisted candidates, category judges, and key opinion formers across media, politics, business, academia and public life.

David Aaronovitch, The Times, was awarded the prestigious Commentariat of the Year for the second time in award's history, reflecting his dynamic contribution to the field. Now in its sixth year, the 2014 Comment Awards also include three new categories across Fashion, Food and Business Ethics to reflect the expanding arena of comment. The 2014 Fashion Commentator was won by Alexander Fury, The Independent, Food Commentator went to A.A. Gill, of The Sunday Times and Business Ethics Commentator was won by Will Hutton, The Observer.

Stevie Spring, Chair of the Judges, awarded Melanie Reid the 'Chair's Choice' award, commenting:

'Melanie Reid's work has consistently displayed a quality of writing, clarity of thought and engagement with the political and personal that is a joy to read. Over the last year, her pitch-black sense of humour and fresh perspective extended beyond her weekly 'Spinal Column' to broader news comment pieces. Whilst these moved from directly being about disability, they were always informed from, and illuminated by, that experience. She is an inspiration of resilience, honesty and dignity who shines a completely different spotlight on the issues of the day.'

Anthony Seldon, Master, Wellington College and Author, was announced as the Chair of the Judges for 2015. The ceremony was hosted by social commentator and ei associate Peter York.

Full list of winners below, or visit

The Comment Awards 2014- Winners


Best Online Comment Site

Winner: Mumsnet

Business Commentator sponsored by Tata Consultancy Services

Winner: John Gapper, Financial Times

Business Ethics Commentator sponsored by IESE Business School

Winner: Will Hutton, The Observer

Cultural Commentator sponsored by

Winner: Clive James, Prospect Magazine

Economics Commentator sponsored by ICAP

Winner: Tim Harford, Financial Times

Fashion Commentator

Winner: Alexander Fury, The Independent

Food Commentator sponsored by Tesco finest

Winner: A.A. Gill, The Sunday Times

Foreign Commentator gifted to UNICEF UK

Winner: Andrew Sullivan, The Sunday Times

Independent Blogger sponsored by Hudl from Tesco

Winner: Robin Lustig, Lustig's Letter

Media Commentator sponsored by Vodafone

Winner: Liz Gerard, Sub-Scribe

Political Commentator sponsored by Weber Shandwick

Winner: Rafael Behr, The Guardian

Science Commentator sponsored by the Wellcome Trust

Winner: Ben Goldacre, The Guardian

Sports Commentator

Winner: Martin Samuel, Daily Mail

Columnist of the Year sponsored by Ketchum

Winner: Dominic Lawson, Daily Mail, The Sunday Times

Best Comment Pages sponsored by the John Lewis Partnership

Winner: The Times

Commentariat of the Year sponsored by TalkTalk

Winner: David Aaronovitch, The Times

Chair's Choice chosen by Stevie Spring as Chair of the Judges

Winner: Melanie Reid, The Times

The 2014 judging panel includes: Damian Barr, Writer & Salonnière; Baroness Karren Brady CBE, Vice Chairman, West Ham United Football Club; Shami Chakrabarti, Director, Liberty; Ilse Howling, Chairman, UNICEF UK; Jay Hunt, Chief Creative Officer, Channel 4; Dylan Jones OBE, Editor, British GQ; Laura Kuenssberg, Presenter and Chief Correspondent, Newsnight; Kirsty Lang, Presenter, Front Row Radio 4, BBC; Adrian Monck, Managing Director, Head of Public Engagement, World Economic Forum; Nigel Newton, Founder and CEO, Bloomsbury Publishing; Melanie Rickey, Founder and Editor- in-Chief,; Hannah Rothschild, Board of Director, RIT Capital Partners; Rory Sutherland, Vice-Chairman, Ogilvy & Mather UK, and Simon Walker, Director General, Institute of Directors.

The ceremony was filmed and will be available on eiTV at

The Comment Awards were held in association with lead partners Barclays and Vodafone, as well as the category sponsors as listed.

See for further information on our full list of judges and sponsors. 

Comment on this item

Return to news

Subscribe to bulletin


Search news

Search for:
In past  days or ...
between  and