Programme 2014

Programme for the Conference for 2014
Full Steam Ahead

 4.00 pm Registration
 5.00 pm  SoE AGM including Executive Director (verbal report)
 6.30 pm  Welcome reception – kindly supported by Newsquest
 6.55 pm  Welcome to Southampton
 7.00 pm Society of Editors Lecture
Chair: Ian Murray, Editor-in-chief, Southern Daily Echo and President of the Society of Editors
Sir Alan Moses, Chairman of the Independent Press Standards Organisation
 8.15 pm Buffet supper
10.30pm Late bar
 8.00 am Breakfast
 9.00 am Welcome
Ian Murray
, Editor-in-chief, Southern Daily Echo and President, Society of Editors
 9.15 am Full steam ahead
A close look at the varying business models across national and regional titles and whether readership is now on the rise alongside online advertising revenues.
Ian Murray interviews Larry Kramer.Chair: Doug Wills, Vice President Society of Editors, Managing Editor, Evening Standard and Independent titles
Larry Kramer, President and Publisher, USA Today
Clive Marshall, Chief Executive, PA Group
Paul Napier, Group Editorial Development Director, Johnston Press
Amol Rajan, Editor, The Independent
10.45am Coffee
11.00am Devolution – what it will mean for the media
What part should the national, regional and local media play in the big debate set to dominate politics for the next 12 months.
Chair: Peter Henley, Political Editor, BBC South
Kevin Maguire, Associate Editor, Daily Mirror
Andrew Pierce, Consultant Editor and columnist, Daily Mail
Mike Sassi, Editor, The Nottingham Post
Kevin Ward, Editor, South Wales Argus
12.00pm Continuous Personal Development: Points to watch from the NCTJ Emerging Skills for Journalists report
Chair: Donald Martin, Editor-in-Chief, DC Thomson Newspapers
Kim Fletcher, Chairman, National Council for the Training of Journalists
12.30pm Lunch – kindly supported by BBC News & Current Affairs
 2.00 pm New threats to the media
Chair: Steve Hewlett, Writer, broadcaster and media consultant
Peter Barron, Director of Communications and Public Affairs for Europe, Middle East and Africa, Google
John Battle, Head of Compliance, ITN
Caroline Kean, Litigation Partner, Wiggin LLP
Matthias Spielkamp, Founding Editor,
 3.00 pm Tea
 3.15 pm Sports News: Protecting Valuable Content and Access
Chair: Tony Husband, Sports Editor, BBC South Today
Andy Moger, Executive Director, News Media Coalition
Julie Palmer, Regional Managing Partner, Begbies Traynor Group
 4.00 pm* Police and the Media
Chair: Simon Bucks, Associate Editor, Sky News
Colette Paul, Chief Constable of Bedfordshire and Chair of ACPO Communications Advisory Group
Bob Satchwell, Executive Director, Society of Editors
 5.00 pm* Digital opportunities
Chair: Raymond Snoddy, Journalist, television presenter, author and media commentator
Kathryn Geels, Programme Manager, Destination Local. Nesta
Alison Gow, Digital Innovations Editor, Trinity Mirror Regionals
Peter Jukes, Journalist and Author
 5.45pm Working sessions end
 7.00 pm Reception – kindly supported by Associated British Ports
 8.15 pm Annual Gala Dinner (black tie)
Gavin Millar QC, Barrister, Doughty Street Chambers
11.00pm Late bar
 9.00 am The Big Breakfast – The BBC and Local Journalism
Chair: Phil Harding, Journalist and broadcaster
James Harding, Director of News, BBC
10.00am Rt Honorable Sajid Javid MP, Secretary of State, Culture, Media and Sport
Chair: Doug Wills, President Elect, Society of Editors

*Please note the times of these sessions has now changed from that previously advertised.


Sir Alan Moses – Society of Editors Lecture (PDF)

Ian Murray Welcome (PDF)


Bob Satchwell opening words Police and the Media (PDF)


Gavin Millar QC (PDF)

James Harding (PDF)



Rt Honorable Sajid Javid MP, Secretary of State, Culture, Media and Sport Keynote Address (PDF)