Georgina Henry Award for Digital Innovation opens for entries

Posted on: January 12, 2018 by admin

Georgina Henry


Women in Journalism has announced its 4th annual journalism Georgina Henry Award for Digital Innovation  to be presented at the prestigious National Press Awards run by the Society of Editors.
The prizes (£4000 in total) will be used to complete a project by the applicant. Applicants can be any age and working in either print or multimedia.
The judges will be looking for a flair for storytelling as well as evidence of innovation and/or impact. They will be looking for the winner to demonstrate an identifiable voice and understanding for a specific subject.

The award is sponsored by leading media lawyers WIGGIN LLP and will be presented at the Press Awards ceremony in London on Tuesday 13 March 2018.

The award was set up to honour Georgina Henry, who was a founding member of Women in Journalism as well as former deputy editor of the Guardian and head of before her tragic death in February 2014.

Eleanor Mills, WiJ chair says “Women in Journalism is delighted to be offering the award in the name of one of our founding members Georgina Henry of the Guardian. Offering a prize for innovation seems a great way to immortalise her memory and give a big break to an enterprising woman journalist.”

Caroline Kean, Partner of Wiggin LLP said: ‘We have been with WIJ from its beginnings 25 years ago. We are proud to do something that both honours Georgina’s memory and offers opportunities to aspiring journalists – particularly at a time when changes in the industry and threats to press freedom mean that good journalists are more essential than ever.’

The award, for women only, can be entered by sending three examples of work from the past 12 months to plus an 800-word pitch for an ongoing journalistic project, explaining what stage it is at, and how it is likely to proceed.

Closing date for entries is February 7, 2018.

The judges can also nominate candidates.

The six judges will be Eleanor Mills, editorial director of the Sunday Times and current chair of WiJ,

Helen Lewis, deputy editor, The New Statesman & deputy chair, WiJ

Jane Martinson, columnist , Guardian and former chair of WiJ,

Alison Gow , editor, digital innovation Trinity Mirror Regionals and a board member of the Society of Editors,

Caroline Kean, partner Wiggin LLP

Sue Ryan, former managing editor of the Daily Telegraph and a board member of the Society of Editors.