Congratulations to those shortlisted for the Media Freedom Awards 2022

The Media Freedom Awards set the benchmark for a celebration of UK public interest journalism and shine a light on the crucial role that UK journalists play in promoting media freedom, championing the public’s right to know and holding power to account.  

Booking has now closed for the awards ceremony on the evening of 9 November 2022 at the Globe Theatre in London. A full list of winners and photographs from the event will be uploaded in due course. 

With thanks to our headline sponsor

With thanks to our additional sponsors


Individual Awards

Commentator of the Year

David Olusoga, The Observer
James Marriott, The Times
Kenan Malik, The Observer
Marina Hyde, The Guardian
Matthew Parris, The Times
Yasmin Alibhai-Brown, The i

Foreign Correspondent of the Year

Alex Crawford, Sky News
Bel Trew, The Independent
Chris Hughes, Daily Mirror
Christina Lamb, The Sunday Times
Louise Callaghan, The Sunday Times
Molly Blackall, The i

Freelance Journalist of the Year

Barnie Choudhury, Eastern Eye
Hannah Summers, The Observer
Ian Birrell, Daily Mail, UnHerd and The i
Lucy Osborne, The Guardian
Nicola Kelly, The Guardian
Samaan Lateef, The Daily Telegraph

Journalist of the Year - Broadcast

Alex Crawford, Sky News
Ian Hamilton, BBC Scotland
Paul Brand, ITN
Tessa Chapman, 5 News

Journalist of the Year - National

David Collins, The Sunday Times
Gabriel Pogrund, The Sunday Times
Harry Davies, The Guardian
Neil Munshi, Financial Times
Paul Morgan-Bentley, The Times
Pippa Crerar, Daily Mirror
Susie Coen, Daily Mail

Journalist of the Year - Regional

Charles Thomson, Newsquest South East
Conor Matchett, The Scotsman
Harriet Clugston, NationalWorld
Joanna Morris, The Northern Echo
Sam McBride, Belfast Telegraph
Tanya Fowles, Newsquest

News Producer of the Year

Georgina Hayes, BBC Scotland
Katie Goodman and Christina Michaels, Channel 5 News
Molly Guinness, Times Radio

Photo Journalist of the Year

Jack Hill, The Times
Jamie Wiseman, Daily Mail
Julian Simmonds, The Telegraph
Paul Grover, The Telegraph
Peter Jordan, The Sun
Simon Townsley, The Telegraph

Political Journalist of the Year

Anna Isaac, The Independent
Esther Webber, POLITICO
Gabriel Pogrund, The Sunday Times
John Stevens, Daily Mail
Paul Brand, ITN
Pippa Crerar, Daily Mirror

Young Campaigner of the Year

Emily Braegar, Daily Express
Isaan Khan, Daily Mail
Isabelle Jani-Friend, Metro
Molly Clayton, The Mail on Sunday
Sophie Goodwin, The Press & Journal
Steph Spyro, Daily Express

Young Producer of the Year

Georgina Hayes, BBC Scotland
Marta Santiváñez, Times Radio
Rosie Dowsing, ITV News Central

Group Awards

Campaign of the Year - National

Asylum and immigration, The Guardian
Mail Force Ukraine Appeal
Skill Up Step Up, Evening Standard and The Independent
Smart Motorways, Daily Mail
Transparency in British Public Life, openDemocracy
War on Food Waste, The Mail on Sunday

Campaign of the Year - Regional

Aquind campaign, The News, Portsmouth
Beat the Squeeze, Glasgow Times
Digital Exclusion, VIEW
Save Our Venues, Glasgow Times
Sexism in Football, The Courier/Press & Journal
Time to Talk, Greenock Telegraph

Freedom of Information Award

Civil servants allowed to work from home, Daily Mail
Government’s Covid-19 response, The Independent
Missing Bashir evidence, The Mail on Sunday
Paedophile ring files, Newsquest South East
Police let 22,000 suspects roam free, Daily Mail
The Justice Gap, NationalWorld

Investigation of the Year - Broadcast

Child to Parent Abuse, Channel 5
Children in Crisis – Are we Failing Young Minds? ITV News Central
Maternity Scandal: Fighting for the Truth, BBC Panorama
MI5 Agent, BBC News
Online Abuse: Why Do You Hate Me? BBC Panorama
The Post Office Scandal, BBC Panorama

Investigation of the Year - National

Agnes Wanjiru, The Sunday Times
Drug Lords of Instagram, Daily Mail
Imprisonment for Public Protection, openDemocracy
Partygate, Daily Mirror
Prince Charles investigation, The Sunday Times
Prince of Wales Charitable Foundation, The Mail on Sunday

Investigation of the Year - Regional

COP26, The Scotsman/Scotland on Sunday
Covid-19 Care Home Deaths,  The Scotsman
Part Time Parliament, NationalWorld
Shoebury Paedophile Ring, Newsquest South East
South East Antrim UDA, Sunday Life
Sussex police officers kicked out in secret, The Argus

News Media Organisation of the Year

Daily Mirror
The Daily Telegraph
The Guardian
The Mail on Sunday
The Sun
The Sunday Times

Podcast of the Year

Bed of Lies, The Telegraph
Call Bethel, The Telegraph
Hot Money, Financial Times
Silenced, Article 19
Sky News Daily, A Week in Kabul
Ukraine: The Latest, The Telegraph
War on Truth, BBC Radio 4