November 12, 2024

November 12, 2024

The Society of Editors’ prestigious Media Freedom Awards are now open for entry with 22 categories celebrating excellence in public interest and campaigning journalism across the breadth of the UK news media industry.  

With new and returning categories recognising journalistic innovation, Podcast of the Year and the Political Journalist of the Year amid a year of elections, the awards are open to journalists and news organisations working across all platforms including national and regional print media, broadcast, digital and magazine journalism.

Now in their third year, the awards are open for entry with the closing date for submissions on 9 August 2024. 

The success of the awards stems from their unique role in recognising excellence across the whole spectrum of the industry and this year’s event will culminate with more than 300 news leaders and editors coming together for a high-profile ceremony at the iconic Globe Theatre in London on 12 November 2024. The awards are sponsored by Vodafone and new-National Lottery operator Allwyn.

New categories introduced this year include Commentator of the Year across broadcast and popular platforms which will highlight the columnist, commentator or opinion writer who is a must-read, has a unique voice and the ability to provoke debate. Other new categories include the Broadcast News Media Organisation of the Year.

Announcing the 2024 launch of the prestigious awards, Dawn Alford, Executive Director of the Society of Editors said: “This year the Society of Editors is celebrating its 25th year of championing media freedom and we can’t think of a better way to culminate our anniversary year than to celebrate and recognise the bravery, tenacity and courage of journalists from all sectors of our proud and diverse industry.    

“The awards are unique in celebrating excellence across the breadth of the UK news industry and we encourage all those who are proud of their work to submit entries for consideration. We look forward to celebrating with you on 12 November.”

The Media Freedom Awards recognise UK individuals, teams and media organisations who have demonstrated determination, resilience and resolve in fulfilling their vital role in championing the public’s right to know. 

A full list of categories can be found here.

Guidance on how to enter can be found here

To enquire about sponsorship opportunities please email

A full list of winners from the Media Freedom Awards 2023 can be found here. Photos from the event are available below. Photos should be credited to Lucy Young –