Nick Ferrari announced as host of this year’s Regional Press Awards for 2018

Posted on: February 18, 2019 by admin

Nick Ferrari announced as host of this year’s Regional Press Awards for 2018

LBC host and award-winning journalist Nick Ferrari will return this year to host the Regional Press Awards organised by the Society of Editors to celebrate the best of British regional and local newspaper journalism in 2018.

As entries continue to roll in journalists have until Tuesday 5 March to submit entries. 

Entries for the Regional Press Awards can be found  at where this year there is renewed focus on digital journalism excellence.

Shortlists will be published in mid-April with the awards ceremony and celebratory lunch taking place at IET London, Savoy Place on Friday 17 May 2019. Full details of the new awards and guidance on how to register and enter is available at  

Awards this year have been revised to further recognise the role of digital and innovation in regional newsrooms as well as including new categories that reflect the growing strength of free local newspapers and regional publishers’ magazine output.

Whilst in some more established categories, the award has been split to ensure that journalists working on smaller titles with less resources are recognised without having to compete with larger, better-funded regional daily newsrooms.

Ian Murray, Executive Director of the Society of Editors and Chairman of the Judges said that, “Nick has always been a fantastic host of these awards, we are looking forward to welcoming him again on a night that celebrates the very best of regional journalism”

The Society of Editors, supported by Camelot since 2001, organises the awards on behalf of the industry and they are made possible by the support of several sponsors including Cision, Google, Foot Anstey, Holdthefrontpage, the News Media Association and the Press Association.

The awards will celebrate regional and local journalism in print or as part of a corresponding digital platform and will include the Making a Difference ~ People’s Choice public vote organised by the News Media Association’s Local Media Works.

Revenue generated by entry fees, table sales and sponsorship will pay for the not-for-profit awards programme and help to support the Journalists’ Charity.

For further information or comment please contact the Society of Editors on 01223 304080.