Shadow Cabinet Ministers finalised with Jo Stevens for DCMS and David Lammy for Justice

Posted on: April 6, 2020 by admin

The new leader of the opposition, Sir Keir Starmer MP has announced the final round of his shadow cabinet this afternoon (April 6).

The Labour MP for Cardiff Central, Jo Stevens, will take the role of Shadow Secretary for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport and replaces Tracy Brabin.

Stevens is a DCMS Select Committee Member and sits on the sub-committee on Online Harms and Disinformation. The sub-committee has most recently asked members of the public to flag up instances of fake news on social media for it to be presented as evidence for the government and social media companies.

Writing on Twitter, Stevens praised the role of the digital, cultural and creative industries as ‘sectors I care passionately about’, saying the ‘Covid19 crisis makes us value even more the everyday pleasure they bring’.

Other pertinent appointments announced this afternoon include David Lammy as Shadow Lord Chancellor and Shadow Secretary of State for Justice. The MP for Tottenham since 2000 replaces Richard Burgon.

Lammy’s work for the justice sector in the past includes the influential Lammy Review which investigated Black, Asian and Minority Ethnic representation in the criminal justice system and was published in 2017. The 18-month investigation resulted in a report making 35 recommendations to take steps to improve on racial disparity and transparency in the justice system.

In addition, Ed Milliband makes a return to the Shadow Cabinet as Shadow Business Secretary.

The Leader of the Opposition announced his front line ministers yesterday afternoon including Lisa Nandy taking the Foreign and Commonwealth role. 

A full list of appointments can be read here.