The National Press Award trophies are served

Posted on: August 5, 2020 by admin

The Covid-19 crisis may have led to this year’s National Press Awards being held virtually, but that doesn’t mean we can’t put the winners in the spotlight now the trophies have gone out.

The pandemic meant that the usual gala dinner held in London to reveal the winners of the prestigious National Press Awards had to be cancelled. The awards were revealed digitally, but sadly, none of the recipients could receive their trophies in person.

Indeed, due to the crisis the trophies themselves as well as certificates were delayed with the temporary closure of the supplier.

Now the trophies are winging their way to journalists, editors and teams and we hope to be able to bring you as many photographs as possible of the worthy winners receiving their awards.

Today it’s the turn of Oliver Harvey, Chief Feature Writer at the Sun.

Oliver picked up the title of Feature Writer of the Year.

The Judges said Oliver provided “An impressive portfolio with investigations that are pursued with great ambition and conviction. Not fazed by getting straight into the field to gain evidence these features regularly made the front pages.”

Congratulations again Oliver.

Watch out for more happy winners with their trophies in coming days and weeks.

A full list of winners of the 2019 National Press Awards can be found here