25th Anniversary Conference

April 30, 2024

The Society of Editors 25th anniversary Conference 2024 took place at the Leonardo Royal Hotel, London, St Paul’s on Tuesday 30 April 2024. 

Attended by the Prime Minister Rishi Sunak, who delivered a keynote address on the importance of freedom of expression, the event also saw the Lady Chief Justice, Baroness Carr of Walton-on-the-Hill announce the formation of a new transparency and justice board tasked with looking at ways to enhance open justice and the Secretary of State for Culture, Media and Sport Lucy Frazer MP praised the “absolutely indispensable” role of the news media industry. 

The event, attended by more than 175 editors and news leaders, also saw the presentation of a Special Fellowship Award for Outstanding Contribution to Journalism to Private Eye’s Editor Ian Hislop. 

Sponsored by Vodafone, Allwyn and Cision, other speakers across the day included Jonathan Munro, Deputy CEO of BBC News and Director of Journalism for the Corporation;  Alex Crawford, Special Correspondent for Sky News, Christina Lamb, Chief Foreign Correspondent for The Sunday Times; Pippa Crerar, Political Editor at The Guardian; Rushdi Abualouf, Gaza Correspondent at the BBC; Krishnan Guru-Murthy, Channel 4 News presenter, BBC Analysis Editor Ros Atkins, Maria Breslin, Editor of the Liverpool Echo and Dylan Jones, Editor of the Evening Standard.

High resolution photos from the conference are available below. Photo credit: Lucy Young