Final shortlists announced for National Press Awards for 2017

Posted on: February 26, 2018 by admin

National Press Awards - 2017


The final shortlists for the premier awards celebrating the best of UK national journalism have been announced.

The shortlist reflects the finalists chosen by the judges for the Newspaper of the Year, News Team, Sports Team and the Georgina Henry Prize for Innovation

The National Press Awards for 2017, organised by the Society of Editors, recognises reporters and correspondents, commentators, columnists, cartoonists, designers, photographers, scoops, investigations and campaigns.  The awards culminate with the coveted News Website of the Year and Newspaper of the Year titles.

Winners will be announced at a glittering gala dinner at the London, Hilton Park Lane Hotel on Tuesday 13 March 2018.  The event is the most prestigious in the industry’s calendar with around 500 editors and journalists coming together to salute the quality and success of national newspaper journalism in print and on digital platforms.

This year’s awards will be presented once again by award-winning LBC Radio presenter Nick Ferrari.

The awards are organised on behalf of the industry by the Society of Editors. Proceeds help to fund the Society of Editors’ campaigning for media freedom and the Journalists’ Charity.

Sponsors for the awards include Camelot which has supported the Society of Editors since 2001, United Utilities, JTI, Cision, EY, Google, Wiggin, Wellcome Trust, Press Association, Reuters, Luther Pendragon, Normandy and Atout France, London Hilton on Park Lane, Journalists’ Charity and the British Journalism Review.

For tickets or tables for the black tie event on March 13 please contact Angela Upton at or on 01223 304080. Information and prices can be found here.

Georgina Henry Award for Innovation
Jem Collins, Journo Resources
Maeve McClenaghan, Tip Off
India Rakussen, Like Minds
Robyn Vinter, Overtake

News Team of the Year
Facebook and Google, The Times
Jihadi John Lair, The Daily Telegraph
Paradise Papers, The Guardian
The Europopulists, Financial Times

Sports Team of the Year
Daily Mail
London Evening Standard
The Guardian and The Observer
The Sunday Times
The Telegraph
The Times

Newspaper of the Year
Daily Mail
Financial Times
Sunday Mirror
The Mail on Sunday
The Sunday Times
The Times