November 9, 2022

November 9, 2022


The Society’s Media Freedom Awards took place on 9 November 2022 at the Underglobe Theatre in London.  Hosted by ITV’s Lucrezia Millarini and attended by the Secretary of State for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport Michelle Donelan MP, the event brought together more than 200 journalists from all sectors for a celebration of public interest journalism. 

A highlights video from the event can be watched above and a full list of winners can be found here

Held in partnership with WeShop, the big winners of the evening included the Daily Mirror which was crowned the News Media Organisation of the Year while open-source platform Bellingcat was named the International News Media Organisation of the Year.  The evening also saw PA Media presented with the Judges’ Media Freedom Award by the Culture Secretary for its championing of open justice on behalf of the wider news industry.   

Announcing the winners Dawn Alford, Executive Director of the Society said: “The winners of the Media Freedom Awards highlight not only the exceptional standard of public interest journalism but also the courage, dedication and bravery of journalists in the UK who often operate in dangerous and life-threatening situations both at home and abroad. We are honoured to recognise their outstanding achievements and thank them for the vital work that they do to hold power to account and report on behalf of the public.”

Photos from the event can be found in the gallery below. Photo credit: SWNS