Meet today’s nominees in the Regional Press Award spotlight

Posted on: June 8, 2020 by admin

Today in the spotlight

In spite of this year’s difficult circumstances, we are determined that the hard work done by journalists in the regional and local press should not go unrecognised.

Each week day until the winners are announced online on June 19 we will be spotlighting several of the category shortlists and introducing the nominees and their work.

Sign up here to our daily bulletin to receive updates as they are posted.

Click on the pictures to meet the nominees for today’s spotlight categories

Young Journalist of the Year, sponsored by Amazon Prime Video

Ashlie Blakey, Manchester Evening News
Emilia Bona, Liverpool Echo
Emily Townsend, East Anglian Daily Times and Ipswich Star
Jack Dyson, Kentish Gazette
Jessie Mathewson, East London Guardian
Lydia Chantler-Hicks, Kentish Gazette
Marcus Hughes, WalesOnline

Specialist Writer/ Impact Journalist of the Year

Abbie Wightwick, WalesOnline
Ciaran Barnes, Sunday Life
Helen McArdle, The Herald
Joe Thomas, Liverpool Echo
Liam Thorp, Liverpool Echo
Seanin Graham, The Irish News

Feature Writer/ Long Form Journalist of the Year

Amanda Powell, The Western Mail
Anna Lewis, WalesOnline
Barry Didcock, The Herald & The Herald On Sunday
Joe Thomas, Liverpool Echo
Rebecca Day, Manchester Evening News
Richard Heath, Jersey Evening Post